To gauge some thoughts on the topic of character representations, I got several people to answer a questionnaire I had constructed. These are some of the responses:
Questionnaire 1:
Questionnaire 2:
Questionnaire 3:
Questionnaire 4:
Questionnaire 5:
(Plus another answer I got via online messenger which is a little more detailed:)
Gender (Circle choice)
Male Female
Which videogame genre do you prefer? (Circle choice)
Action/Adventure Fighting First Person Shooter
Puzzle RPG Simulation Strategy (Miscellaneous: Sometimes, it also depends on the specific gameplay, regardless of general genre; any game can be well-made if done "right". )
How important is the way that your player character acts in game to you?
It may or may not be very important; In the end, it depends on the game itself. Is the main character someone the player creates themself, or is it one/several specific character/s? I personally love creating characters, but if they are too shallow, it kills some of the fun as well if the game focuses on the storyline. On the other hand, if the main characters are set from the beginning, it can be enjoyable in another aspect than with one you "design" yourself; they have a story, a past and a personality, and a logical way to interact with other characters. We need both types of games.
Has there been any particular game where a main character has irritated you or been hard to relate to? If so why was this?
I can recall a couple of games like those. One common example would be the Pokemon-characters. Even though they are set from the beginning, they don't speak, and are shallow in any other way than when they throw their Pokemon into the fight. This has both pros and cons; It's sad that they are shallow when you cannot form them yourself, while at the same time it's "stupid" to name a character freely if they have a set story. Mario could be one of those characters. Even though there are many games about him, there are no games where he speaks for himself, other than "Wahoo!" and "Mamma mia..", or a few times maybe an "Imma Mario!". Link would be one of those characters as well.
Basically this would mean that any shallow character that has a story, is a little frustrating. Even if they would talk, if the voice acting or their story was simple, like for instance many shoujo mangas or cheap shoujo animes, it's very frustrating. Actually even more if they have an interesting character design, where you'd love to know more about him/her.
Furthermore, does a terrible character design (both literal and personality-wise) have more of an overall negative effect sometimes than other key gaming elements executed badly (ie: bad gameplay, bad camera control, bad storyline, etc.)?
If comparing what is worse, a bad character design or a bad gameplay, obviously if you cannot play the game while the story and character is good, you can't play the game. You simply cannot enjoy even the most delicious cookies in a foul-reeking room, or if you've burnt your thongue just beforehand. It leaves a trace of dissappointment. Also the characters would most likely not be very good personality-wise if the storyline is bad; a character's personality does form the story more or less, after all.
Therefore, I'd say that bad gameplay would be the worst element. Myself, I prefer intuitive games where you learn the basics first and eventually gradually have new elements introduced to you. But still, if I were to fall in love with a character's design and/or personality, the chances of me to play that game would increase.
Good controls/gameplay is however still a fundament whether I would be able to play and enjoy the game or not. Much walking between places with nothing else happening and no nice scenery to watch and explore meanwhile? Boring, but tolerable if the storyline just makes you urge to the next location. Hard to fight enemies because the most vital buttons you have to press are placed in a way making it hard to use them around the same time? Simply frustrating. A storyline that makes you wonder why you even bought the game? Would maybe work for a good laugh with some friends. A short story? Works for me, if the gameplay was so amazing that I still would spend time playing the game inbetween the story itself.
In contrast, what has been your favourite character to play as? Do you think there is a particular reason for this (character design, storyline, personality, etc.)?
Hmmm. Tales of Symphonia was simply enjoyable, though I always enjoyed it the most while playing it with my sister. Tales of Symphonia 2, however, I enjoyed more to play alone, due to the difference in the characters you could play as (where you have 8 to choose from in ToS, you only had 2 characters that would stick with you all the time in ToS2). Here, the most enjoyable was both how the characters interacted, not the least all the skits/dialogues between them, for both of the games.
Other games I enjoyed, or have a fond memory of, is first Final Fantasy: Crystal Chronicles. The graphics and music were so astounding, and the character designs and classes so unique, I fell in love at once. Sadly, I was bad at playing it alone, and you needed two GBAs to play, so when my sister's GBA broke, that's also when we stopped playing the game. One of my hugest wishes, would be a remake of this amazing game, though it seems noone ever realized its potential. But enough about that.
Another game I love, is Avalon Code, due to the whole system; you have four summons, which you can interact with (you can even get together with them as boyfriend and girlfriend but nevermind that; though it was a sweet option, though sadly not very giving when it was achieved), and you can make your own weapons. You can either play as a boy or a girl, they don't talk, but are still integrated so deeply into the story, they fit in perfectly. The designs are very nice, and there are many small things to do all the time, like exploring (though you had to press the attack button to explore, so hearing them shout all the time while exploring could become tiring). Here, the storyline was so wonderful, you didn't get time to question your personality, also as well as you were able to answer in two different ways in some cases, giving you a more personal feeling of their personality. This affected, only slightly, the affection of others towards you.
Yet another game is Lux-Pain. The characters are interesting, and the whole story revolves around them. It's a very sad but attaching story, which you have to complete twice or so in order to collect all extra skits and other bonus material. The only sad thing about this game, is how the dialogue was messed up, where the voice acting sometimes gave different meanings to things than the written dialogue. It became tiring at times to try listening to "both versions of the story" even when getting used to it.
I could name a couple more games, though that would probably take too much time; Though one last game would probably be The first Pokemon game for GameCube, Pokemon Collosseum, I think the name was. The main character was so loveable, while the storyline was original and interesting, as well as darker as in most Pokemon-games. I would had probably loves it even more if it was even darker compared to the others, but being an awesome game with many interesting places, it's forgiven. Pokemon XD was allright as well, but it never game me the same feeling as Pokemon Collosseum.
Seeing it like this, there are many ways to enjoy a character, depending on the setting and integration of the story and character. Shallowness is the gamer's (mine at least) worst enemy.
Do you prefer playing as a character in first person or third person? And why is this?
Depending on the game, I'm more or less comfortable with a first person view. In most games I prefer the third person view, due to the feeling of being able to move and see where you are and what you're looking at and where you're headed to. Many first person views I've seen, can be confusing at several times, but I've also seen uncomfortable third person views, that were unpleasant due to being unable to adjust how zoomed-in you would be. Being too close to the character can create a block for your sight instead than the feeling of controlling the character.
If it's a shooting game, however, or a very dynamic combat game, first person view it is though. I've played and enjoyed two of those games, both being online games; S4 and Fantasy Earth Zero. Even though the second game was a third person view-game, it was integrated with the first person view aiming "circle" (I don't know the word right now, crossfire?). At least, you could choose between this integrated version and a normal third person view. It worked amazingly, and was fantastic. My only lack in the end, in S4, was players to play against, because it's often more fun to fight against people you know. In Fantasy Earth Zero you at least could meet somewhere, in a town etc and join a Guild (Corp in FEZ), giving you people to fight with and against.
In many games however, I enjoy the third person view solely due to the opportunity to watch your character, especially if the design is very pretty or you can change their equipment and with that their look. And watchign the enviroment; That's when the option to rotate the camera up and down and around and zooming in and out is simply the best.
Do you prefer games that offer a deeply customisable avatar with little backstory or a definitive “Protagonist” character with a deep backstory?
Like mentioned earlier, I prefer both. Being able to play both games with definite characters and games with highly customizable characters, are both enjoyable in their own way. If it's games like online games or with a different approach to storyline than most RPGs, I prefer having many customizable choices. Other times, you just want to dive into pre-made characters's back story and choices, where they are in charge, not you. Depends solely on the game and how it's handled.
Do you prefer characters that speak through recorded voice acting or textboxes/ sound effects? Why do you think this is?
I love when they speak with voice acting as well as with text boxes. However, the best thing I like is having both subtitles/text boxes along with them talking. The voice acting has to be good though. If it's half-assed voice acting, the game's often better off without the whole voice acting thing. If I know there's gonna be voice acting in a game, especially for DS, it tends to make me even more excited than without.
I think it's because voice acting also emphazises the mood of the characters, and makes them more alive. It's often also easier to really get the whole what-do-I-have-to-do concept and the general mood within the story, reading the character's mood and so on. Even if games without voice acting can be good, I just think they would be even more enjoyable with. The normal limitation has often only been the lack of space for additional voices/material on the game disc, from what I've heard.
Thank you for your time!
There is too much there to go truely in depth about now but what I found interesting was how seriously the answers were taken for some characters (clearly the issues or opinions were strong and that in itself is an interesting point).